Ultimate Blog Tour: Lies Like Wildfire by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez #LiesLikeWildfire #TheWriteReads #TheWriteReadsTours #UltimateBlogTour #Review

Hi Folks!!!

Welcome back to another fab Ultimate Blog Tour!! A massive thank you once again to Dave @The_WriteReads for today’s spot and to Penguin for my eARC!!

My full thoughts on the book will be coming soon, but in the mean while here’s a spotlight post so you can find out what a treat your in for when you pick this one up!!

Publisher: Penguin

Length: 384 Pages

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery Thriller

Publishing: 7thSeptember 2021

Synopsis/Blurb:

An intense high-stakes story about five friends and the deadly secret that could send their lives up in flames, perfect for fans of Karen McManus and E. Lockhart.

In Gap Mountain, California, everyone knows about fire season. And no one is more vigilant than 18-year-old Hannah Warner, the sheriff’s daughter and aspiring FBI agent. That is until this summer. When Hannah and her best friends accidentally spark an enormous and deadly wildfire, their instinct is to lie to the police and the fire investigators.

But as the blaze roars through their rural town and towards Yosemite National Park, Hannah’s friends begin to crack and she finds herself going to extreme lengths to protect their secret. Because sometimes good people do bad things. And if there’s one thing people hate, it’s liars.

My Thoughts:

When Dave sent out the email for this tour I knew this was a book not to be missed and I’m glad to say this book didn’t disappoint.

Lies Like Wildfire follows a group of friends whose lives fall apart after they accidently start a fire. Although an accident the group are looking at possible criminal charges, and to protect themselves and each other they swear not to tell anyone and come up with a lie. But as the fire spreads and people die, guilt starts to set in within the group and the whole situation spirals out of control.

The book is written well, and the story is told from the perspective of Hannah, in first person. First persons perspectives can be a little hit and miss for me but in this case it worked well in telling the story.  This book is well thought out book with lots of action packed moments and twists that will keep you wanting more. I have to be honest some twists were a little obvious than others, and I did work out what happens, but still wasn’t disappointed. I loved the writing style, it was easy to follow and no point did I feel bored or lost.

As for the characters, well I have very mixed feelings about them. I mean I liked the other members of the group more than Hannah. I felt the others in the group came across as more realistic and I could relate to them more, out of the whole group I think my favourite was Mo. Now the character I struggled with the most with was Hannah. I wasn’t sure what to think about her. I mean yes she was loyal to her friends but I wasn’t too sure about her actions, as I felt they were more for her own gain rather than to protect her friends. I may not have been a fan of all the characters but they were well written and developed.

It’s not very often I say this but I would definitely love to see Lies Like Wildfire being made into a movie or tv series!!

This is a great YA debut novel. If you’re looking for a fast pace, gripping and addictive YA thriller then this is definitely one to give a go. I would love to watch a film or tv adaptation of this incredible book. Worth all the stars and more, very highly recommended and definitely going to be one of my favourite reads of this year.

My Rating

💙💙💙💙

About the Author:

I received my B.A. in English from the University of California at Berkeley. I’m fascinated by underdogs and power dynamics between groups of people. 

I’m the author of LIES LIKE WILDFIRE, a teen thriller soon-to-be published by Delacorte Press, and two middle grade book series, each published by HarperCollins Children’s Books, THE GUARDIAN HERD (a quartet) and RIDERS OF THE REALM (a trilogy). Before this, I self-published a middle grade fantasy called THE PET WASHER. 

When I’m not writing, you’ll find me galloping my little black mare through the foothills of Sonoma County or teaching free creative writing workshops to kids and adults at various branches of our local library system. 

The Healdsburg Literary Guild selected me as their 2019/2020 Literary Laureate for my work in building literacy in my community. It is an honor I hold dear. I am also the current SCBWI Sonoma County Coordinator and a volunteer on the Sonoma County Library Advisory Board.

I live in Northern California with my husband, three children, and more than my fair share of pets!

Social Media Links:

Website

Instagram

Twitter

Facebook

Amazon

Goodreads

And before I go, if you’re interested in joining in with some amazing blog tours and being part of the gang just head over to Twitter and get in touch with the awesome Dave @The_WriteReads or visit the website The Write Reads. Trust me you won’t be disappointed!!!


You can also find me on: Twitter || Instagram ||Goodreads


badge16402323965370175670.pngBlackthorn Book Trusted ReviewerProfessional Reader10 Book ReviewsReviews Published80%

30483411-0-Edelweiss-Reviewer-B


5 comments

  1. I agree. The teens are not all together likable, especially Hannah – and Mo was my favorite too – but that didn’t detract from my enjoyment for some reason. It is a very good fast-paced thriller. Excellent review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s