The Optician’s Wife by Betsy Really (Audiobook Review)

The Optician’s Wife by Betsy Reavley

The Optician's WifeFormat: Audiobook

Source: Scribd*

Publisher: Tantor Audio

Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Crime

Narrator: Beverley A. Crick

Length: 8 hours 10 minutes

Publication Date: 4th August 2015

Synopsis/Blurb (taken from Goodreads):

“Can you ever really know someone?

When Deborah, an unpopular seventeen-year-old, meets the charming and handsome Larry, he sweeps her off her feet. The trouble is Larry has a secret.

Then a series of grisly murders cast a shadow over everything.

As Deborah’s world starts to fall apart she begins to suspect the man she loves of a terrible betrayal. And to keep their marriage alive, sacrifices must be made.

A compelling, psychological thriller that unpicks what goes on behind closed doors and reminds us that sometimes the worst crimes can take place closer to home than you think.

The Optician’s Wife is a powerful psychological thriller by the best-selling author of Carrion, The Quiet Ones and Beneath The Watery Moon. If you are a fan of authors like Angela Marsons, Kathryn Croft, Helen Durrant, Barbara Vine or Rachel Abbott you will be gripped by this brilliant and bracing psychological thriller.”

page divider

My Thoughts & Review

I’ve not read anything from this author before and The Optician’s Wife was an unplanned read. I knew very little about this except for the description on Scribed.

The premises of this book sounded really good and I couldn’t wait to get started. I found the first chapter or two a little slow going but then it the storyline picked up and I kept going.

The story is well written, and told from different perspectives and time periods. Although this worked well the main problem I had was that the plot jumped around a bit too much and didn’t quite flow. Also, I sort of worked out what was going to happen so I wasn’t surprised when the twists actually came. However, saying that I still found the premises to be interesting enough to finish the audiobook.

I wasn’t sure about the character’s they somewhat felt underdeveloped at times and I personally found them very unlikeable and I didn’t really feel anything towards them.

Sadly, this audiobook turned out to only be an ok-ish read for me and not quite the 5 star psychological thriller I was expecting, but never less wasn’t a total waste of time.

My Rating

💙💙

 

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Leave a comment below and let’s have a chat.

(* You can try Scribd for 60 days for free by using my link here. In return I’ll get a month free too at no cost to you)

Happy Reading!!!


You can also follow me on: Twitter || Instagram ||Goodreads ||Bloglovin


badge16402323965370175670.pngProfessional Reader10 Book Reviews Reviews Published80%30483411-0-Edelweiss-Reviewer-B

One comment

Leave a comment