I’m Not Dying with You Tonight by Kimberly Jones and Gilly Segal (Audiobook Review)

I’m Not Dying with You Tonight by Kimberly Jones and Gilly Segal

I'm Not Dying With You TonightFormat: Audiobook

Source: Libby

Publisher: Recorded Books

Genres: Young Adult, Fiction, Contemporary

Narrator: Brittany Pressley & Channie Waites

Length: 5 hours 20 minutes

Publication Date: 4th September 2019

Synopsis/Blurb (taken from Goodreads):

“Lena and Campbell aren’t friends.

Lena has her killer style, her awesome boyfriend, and a plan. She knows she’s going to make it big. Campbell, on the other hand, is just trying to keep her head down and get through the year at her new school.

When both girls attend the Friday-night football game, what neither expects is for everything to descend into sudden mass chaos. Chaos born from violence and hate. Chaos that unexpectedly throws them together.

They aren’t friends. They hardly understand the other’s point of view. But none of that matters when the city is up in flames, and they only have each other to rely on if they’re going to survive the night.”png-page-divider-image-page-divider-1-0-png-animal-jam-clans-wiki-fandom-powered-by-wikia-1600

My Thoughts & Review

Before listening to this audiobook, I had no idea what it was about. I only downloaded it because I really wanted to try it out as it’s part of the Big Library Readthis month.

I’m Not Dying with You Tonight is a story about two girls from different backgrounds who come together after a riot breaks out at a football game. We follow both girls as they try to avoid getting caught up in the riot and the events afterwards. The story is told in alternating views from both characters.  Now although the plot was interesting and fast paced I still felt the plot was a little underdeveloped and rushed, everything happens so fast and this somehow made me feel like there was something missing, but I can’t quite put my finger on it. Also, the ending was very disappointing. The ending was really unsatisfying. The book just ended with Lena sending a text to her boyfriend.  I know sometime us readers like making up our own ending but this one actually just left me with quite a few questions.  

At the start of the book I was really interested in the characters Lena and Campbell and really wanted to see how they developed but sadly as the story developed they failed to develop with it. And I think because they were so underdeveloped they actually felt quite flat and by the end I lost the excitement in following their story.  

Personally, I think this book could have been so much better, and sadly I felt very disappointed by it. I have to admit there are better books out there that deal with similar topics and themes as those in this book.

Based on my experience of reading this book I wouldn’t read it again and not one that I would recommend immediately but hey it’s just my opinion and many others have definitely enjoyed this quick read more than me. So, don’t just take my word for it as once again I think I’m one of very few who didn’t love this book.

My Rating

💙💙

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Share your thoughts in the comments and let’s get chatting.

Happy Reading Everyone!!!


You can also find me on: Twitter || Instagram ||Goodreads ||Bloglovin


badge16402323965370175670.pngProfessional Reader10 Book ReviewsReviews Published80%30483411-0-Edelweiss-Reviewer-B

9 comments

  1. I’ve seen the title around here and there but this was the first time I read the synopsis and it sounds really interesting — so it’s a little disappointing to hear that you found it rushed and underdeveloped (especially the characters)! I think I’m still interested to give it a go but I will defo head in with caution! Great review, Mani 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment