Ultimate Blog Tour: Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone #TheWriteReads #UltimateBlogTour #Mirrorland

Hi Folks!!!

I’m back yet again with another fab Ultimate Blog Tour!!! Once again a massive shout out to Dave @The_WriteReads and the gang for my spot today!!! Also let’s not forget a big thank you to Penguin for providing an eARC!!

Today’s tour is for…

Publisher: Scribner Books

Length: 320 Pages

Age/Genre: Adult Thriller

Publication Date: 20th April 2021

ISBN: 9781982136352

Synopsis/Blurb:

Twelve years ago my life began again.

But it was a lie.

With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is the story of twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind.

Cat lives in Los Angeles, about as far away as she can get from her estranged twin sister El and No. 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where they grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to the grand old house, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. No. 36 Westeryk Road is still full of shadowy, hidden corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues all over the house: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting…

A sharply crafted mystery about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge, Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware, and Daphne du Maurier.

My Thoughts

Some of you may have already seen my review previously as I did read an eARC of this back in February this year. But not to worry, if you missed it as here it is again, for you too all enjoy!!

Where do I even start with this book!!! Seriously it was mind blowing, with so much happening that You won’t know what is true and what’s imaginary.

Mirrorland follows mirror twins sisters Ellice (El) and Catriona (Cat) who created an imaginary world in the basement of their childhood home, that they called Mirrorland. But as the twins grow up they go their separate ways. Cat moved abroad to start her new life in California while El stays behind in Scotland and marries their childhood friend. But 12 Years after Cat leaves El goes missing and cat returns to find out what has happened, and the rest you’ll have to read the book to find out!!!

The book is a little slow to start but once it gets going around 15% on the Kindle I couldn’t get enough of it. This definitely isn’t your standard mystery, thriller. You’ll have to pay extra attention to details and you can’t skip anything because trust me you’ll definitely miss something if you do.  This book had so many twists that you just won’t know what to believe.

Throughout the book the story switches between past and present day, most of the time without warning. Normally I struggle when authors do this but Johnstone has done it in such a way that it works well and actually helps to understand what’s going on, as it provides a lot of back story within the past sections.  I did have my suspicions as to what happened to El and how the book would end, but there was also quite a lot of twists that I really didn’t see coming.

I thought the characters were good and developed well as the book progressed but there was something missing for me and this held me back in liking them fully.

After the initial slow start this really ended up being a really good debut novel, and would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a  chilling, psychological thriller. 

Original review post can be found here.

My Rating

💙💙💙💙

About the Author:

(from https://carolejohnstone.com/about/)

Carole Johnstone is an award-winning writer from Scotland, whose short stories have been published all over the world. Mirrorland, a psychological suspense with a gothic twist, is her debut novel.

Having grown up in Lanarkshire, she now lives in the beautiful Argyll & Bute, and is currently working on her second novel: a very unusual murder-mystery, set in the equally beautiful Outer Hebrides.

Social Media Links:

Website

Facebook

Goodread

Twitter


You can also find me on: Twitter || Instagram ||Goodreads


badge16402323965370175670.pngBlackthorn Book Trusted ReviewerProfessional Reader10 Book ReviewsReviews Published80%

30483411-0-Edelweiss-Reviewer-B


7 comments

  1. Hi Mani,
    Thank you so much again for your review! I really enjoyed reading it, and I’m so glad you liked the story! And thank you so much for being a part of the Mirrorland blog tour.
    All best wishes,
    Carole x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s