Mini Catch up Reviews!!

Hi folks,

So, having fallen behind on reviews over the last couple of months I thought I would share a small collection of mini reviews!!

(Click on book covers to be taken to there Goodreads page for more information about the book)

After hearing some good things about this book, I decided to borrow a copy of it from some friends. They seemed to have really enjoyed this one, but for me this was a book of two halves. 

Although it was really well written I’m not entirely sure what it was meant to be about, it definitely wasn’t what I was expecting. From reading the description I thought the book was going to be about a bookseller who struggles to supply books to the people of Kabul but it wasn’t and this was the most disappointing part of the book.

Yes, the book started of interesting and I learnt some interesting things about life in Afghanistan but the rest of the book just didn’t do anything for me!! After the first couple of chapters the book went off into a totally different direction that I wasn’t expecting, and it was at this point that I started to lose interest in the book. 

Many have loved this book, but sadly it wasn’t for me.

Rating: 💙💙

This is another book I’ve been wanting to pick up for a while but just never got around to it until this year and I don’t know how I feel at all. 

I mean I enjoyed bits of it but most of the time I found it quite slow and found it very difficult to concentrate on the story. I opted to listen to the audiobook and so glad I did as I think I would probably have DNF-ed it half way through. Even then I had to crank the speed up. 

Overall, not the best book I’ve listened to in a while but I think I may be in the minority who didn’t enjoy this book as much. Also, this book may also be quite triggering for some so please be cautious when picking it up.

Trigger Warnings: Domestic abuse, Suicide, Death

Rating: 💙💙

I have to admit I wasn’t too sure about this one from the description but having heard some great things about this one from some fellow book bloggers. I thought it was about time to it up, and I’m so glad I did as I ended up finishing this one in a couple of sittings.

The Rumour is set in a small seaside town where an overheard rumour in a school playground between gossiping mother, spreads and things start getting out of hand.

This is a well written book that is full of twists and turns that will have you gripped from start to finish. It will have you suspecting every character you meet along the way, but the ending was by far surprising. I was definitely not expecting it. 

This was an addictive read and one I would definitely recommend if you’re looking for a fast paced, suspenseful mystery thriller.

Rating: 💙💙💙💙

Have you read any of these books? if so let me know your thoughts down below in the comments.

Happy Reading!!!


You can also find me on: Twitter || Instagram ||Goodreads


badge16402323965370175670.pngBlackthorn Book Trusted ReviewerProfessional Reader10 Book Reviews Reviews Published80%30483411-0-Edelweiss-Reviewer-B

2 comments

Leave a comment