Ultimate Blog Tour: What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson (Review) #TheWriteReads #UltimateBlogTour #WhatBeautyThereIs

Hi Folks!!!

I’m back with my delayed review for the debut novel What Beauty There is by Cory Anderson!!!

A massive shout out to Dave @The_WriteReads and Penguin for my stop on the tour and my beautiful proof copy!!

Publisher: Penguin

Genres: Young Adult, Thriller, Mystery, Fiction

Publication Date: 8th April 2021

ISBN: 9780241441718 

Length: 368 Pages 

Dimensions: 222mm x 34mm x 144mm 

Weight: 483g 

RRP: £12.99 

Synopsis/Blurb:

When everything you love is in danger, how long can you keep running to survive?

Life can be brutal
Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Jack knew it
Jack Dahl has nothing left. Except his younger brother, Matty, who he’d die for. Their mother is gone, and their funds are quickly dwindling, Jack needs to make a choice: lose his brother to foster care, or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

So did I
Ava lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one.

Did I feel the flutter of wings when Jack and I met? Did I sense the coming tornado?
But now Ava wants to break the rules – to let Jack in and open her heart. Then she discovers that Jack and her father are stalking the same money, and suddenly Ava is faced with a terrible choice: remain silent or speak out and help the brothers survive.

Looking back, I think I did . . .

Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Meg Rosoff and Daniel Woodrell, What Beauty There Is an unforgettable debut novel that is as compulsive as it is beautiful, and unflinchingly explores the power of determination, survival and love.

‘Beautifully written and superbly constructed, Anderson pulls you onto a chilling footpath of love and loss and keeps you there until you’ve read every last word’ Ruta Sepetys, bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey

My Thoughts

Wow, where do I even start with this review. This is my fourth attempt and I still can’t get my thoughts into something readable and without spoilers, not because I didn’t like this book but because it was so good. So, apologise if this review turns out to be a hot mess!!

What Beauty There is a dark yet beautifully written book that reeled me in from the very first page. Jack and Matty’s story is told in third person narration from Ava’s point of view and what a heart-breaking story it was. The story follows two brothers Jack and Matty who are left to defend for themselves after their mother commits suicide and their father has been imprisoned for robbery. The story is told over nine days and honestly within the nine days the events that unfold will have your feelings in a whirl. 

Although the story was great I feel the characters are what truly made this book. They truly brought the book to life.  I liked the mix of characters, from the innocent Matty to the complex main characters Jack and Ava. I found them to be incredibly well developed and believable.

While this book is dark it does delve into happier themes such and friendship and love for family and despite the emotional rollercoaster this is undeniably a book that will stay with me for a while. 

This review really doesn’t do this book justice and look forward to seeing what Cory Anderson has for us next. Without a doubt I think everyone should add this debut novel to their TBR’s. I highly recommend it!!

My Rating

💙💙💙💙


You can also find me on: Twitter || Instagram ||Goodreads


badge16402323965370175670.pngBlackthorn Book Trusted ReviewerProfessional Reader10 Book ReviewsReviews Published80%

30483411-0-Edelweiss-Reviewer-B


7 comments

  1. This review isn’t a mess! It’s a wonderful review ❤️. What I love about this book the most is that it’s powerful enough to stay with you long after you finish it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s