The Silver Road by Stina Jackson (Book Review)

The Silver Road by Stina Jackson

42964959Format: Hardback

Source: Sent to me by the publisher via Readers First

Publisher: Atlantic Books, Corvus

Genres: Mystery, Thriller, Crime, Fiction

Publication Date: 7th March 2019

Synopsis/Blurb (taken from Goodreads):

Three years ago, Lelle’s daughter went missing in a remote part of Northern Sweden. Lelle has spent the intervening summers driving the Silver Road under the midnight sun, frantically searching for his lost daughter, for himself and for redemption.

Meanwhile, seventeen-year-old Meja arrives in town hoping for a fresh start. She is the same age as Lelle’s daughter was – a girl on the brink of adulthood. But for Meja, there are dangers to be found in this isolated place.

As autumn’s darkness slowly creeps in, Lelle and Meja’s lives are intertwined in ways, both haunting and tragic, that they could never have imagined.

This compelling and haunting read is perfect for fans of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone.

page divider

My Thoughts & Review

I first found out about this book after reading a review on Ova’s blog over at Excuse My Reading. After reading her review I knew it was a book that I would really enjoy and added it to my list of books to buy when it comes out. Then fast forward to a week or so later and I saw that it was available to request on the Readers First website, so I jumped straight on and wrote my request to them, and a week later I got the email to say I was one of the chosen ones to receive a copy to read and review. I was super excited when it came through my letter box. Skip ahead another couple of weeks and here we are with this review.

I absolutely feel in love with this book from the very beginning. This book is a haunting, atmospheric read set in a remote part of Northern Sweden. The story is about a 17 year old girl that disappears from a local bus stop, after her father drops her off.

It’s a beautifully written story where we learn and discover a story of love, loss and an obsession of a father to find his daughter and to find out what really happened to her.

I loved the descriptions of the landscape and area around where the story is set.

I would also like to say what a wonderful job Susan Beard has done in translating this book from Swedish to English. I thought I was flawless, and in fact I wouldn’t have even known that it was translated, if I hadn’t already known before picking up the book.

Overall a thrilling and suspenseful debut novel that was compelling and very hard to put down. I can’t wait to see what else Stina Jackson has to offer next

Definitely a must read, especially if you’re looking for a great crime thriller set in Sweden.

My Rating

💙💙💙💙1/2

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Share your thoughts in the comments and let’s get chatting.

Happy Reading Everyone!!!

 


You can also find me on: Twitter || Instagram||Goodreads ||Bloglovin


 

Advertisements

One comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s