First Lines Friday – 1st March 2019

1538060132993

Welcome to my “First Lines Fridays” this is a weekly meme, that I first saw on Jill’s Book Blog and which is originally hosted by Wondering Words.

Rules:

  1. Choose a book from your shelves/current read
  2. Open the book to the first page
  3. Copy the first line on the page, making sure you don’t give away the book title
  4. Reveal the book.

FIRST LINES:

“The key turns in the lock.

Must be Pip, Messing about. Again. Didn’t he learn anything from what happened before?”

 

Do you recognise which book these lines come from?

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

This weeks book is… The Secret You Hide by Kate Helm

41092651

 

Synopsis/Blurb (taken from Goodreads/Readers First):

“In her eyes, no-one is innocent…

A knock-out read for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Anatomy of a Scandal and Apple Tree Yard.

Georgia Sage has a gift: she can see evil in people. As a courtroom artist she uses her skills to help condemn those who commit terrible crimes. After all, her own brutal past means she knows innocence is even rarer than justice.

But when she is drawn back into the trial that defined her career, a case of twisted family betrayal, she realises her own reckless pursuit of justice may have helped the guilty go free.

As Georgia gets closer to the truth behind the Slater family, something happens that threatens not only her career – but even her own sanity. At first, she fears her guilt around the events of her terrible childhood is finally coming back to haunt her.

The truth turns out to be even more terrifying . . .

THE SECRETS YOU HIDE is an ambitious rocket of a novel. Every layer, every twist, every revelation makes you question the very characters you thought you could trust, and rethink a plot you thought you were beginning to unravel…”

Have you read this book? How did you find it? Let me know down below.

 

 


You can also follow me on: Twitter || Instagram ||Goodreads ||Bloglovin


 

 

 

5 comments

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s