eARC Book Review: The Secret You Hide by Kate Helm

The Secret You Hide by Kate Helm

41092651

Format: Advance Digital Review copy

Source: Readers First

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre

Genres: Mystery, Psychological Thriller

Publication Date: 7th February 2019

Synopsis/Blurb (taken from Goodreads/Readers First):

“In her eyes, no-one is innocent…

A knock-out read for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Anatomy of a Scandal and Apple Tree Yard.

Georgia Sage has a gift: she can see evil in people. As a courtroom artist she uses her skills to help condemn those who commit terrible crimes. After all, her own brutal past means she knows innocence is even rarer than justice.

But when she is drawn back into the trial that defined her career, a case of twisted family betrayal, she realises her own reckless pursuit of justice may have helped the guilty go free.

As Georgia gets closer to the truth behind the Slater family, something happens that threatens not only her career – but even her own sanity. At first, she fears her guilt around the events of her terrible childhood is finally coming back to haunt her.

The truth turns out to be even more terrifying . . .

THE SECRETS YOU HIDE is an ambitious rocket of a novel. Every layer, every twist, every revelation makes you question the very characters you thought you could trust, and rethink a plot you thought you were beginning to unravel…”

Big-black-divider

My Thoughts & Review

Another Great read for February. I choose this book for two reasons the first was the cover and the second was the description. This book had me hooked from the very first page.

It is written so well and clearly that I found it o easy to read. The premise was different yet very interesting. It’s based on the main character Georgia/Suzanne who is a court artist who believes she can sense evil in people, and can tell when someone is lying and guilty of something.  This all started after a horrifying event that happened when she was about 11 years old.

To some the storylines may feel a little all over the place but trust me it all comes together in a tense but fast paced ending.

The Secret You Hide is not a book full of action like I was expecting but instead is a more character based book that is written with the point of view from the main character Georgia/Suzanne which I enjoyed and thought worked out well.

I found all the characters in this book interesting and likeable but my favourite was Georgia/Suzanne. The main reason I think I liked her was because she came across as a strong person while struggling with guilt and trauma from her childhood.

Overall a great read, and I can’t believe I waited so long to read this book.

If you’re looking for a unique, addictive Psychological Thriller I can highly recommend this book.

I would like to thank Readers First and the publisher Bonnier Zaffre for a copy of this eARC in return for an honest and unbiased review.

My Rating

💙💙💙💙1/2

 

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Share your thoughts in the comments and let’s get chatting.

Happy Reading Everyone!!!

 


You can also follow me on: Twitter || Instagram ||Goodreads ||Bloglovin


 

Advertisements

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s