First Lines Friday – 23rd November 2018

1538060132993

Welcome to my “First Lines Fridays” this is a weekly meme, that I first saw on Jill’s Book Blog and which is originally hosted by Wondering Words.

Rules:

  1. Choose a book from your shelves/current read
  2. Open the book to the first page
  3. Copy the first line on the page, making sure you don’t give away the book title
  4. Reveal the book.

FIRST LINES:

“The funeral is supposed to be a quiet affair, for the deceased had no friends. But words are water in Amsterdam, they flood your ears and set the rot, and the church’s east corner is crowded.

Do you recognise which book these lines come from?

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

 

DLfmtJ1UIAEXoSx

This weeks book is… The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

1447250931

Synopsis/Blurb (taken from Goodreads):

“Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam–a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion–a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

“There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .”

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office–leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist–an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand–and fear–the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

 

Have you read this book? How did you find it? let me know down below in the comments.

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s