Audiobook Review: The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

35967101My Rating: 💙💙💙

Format: Audiobook

Publisher: Raven Books

Genres: Thriller, Mystery, Fiction

Synopsis/Blurb (taken from Goodreads):

How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

Also titled as “The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

Big-black-divider

My Thoughts & Review

I finally got around to listening to this book on audiobook. I had originally planned to read the physical copy but there was a long wait for it at my local library for it. I’ve wanted to read this book since hearing lots of good things about it, and I wanted to find out what all the hype was about. This book reminded me of the movie Ground Hog day minus the murder scenes.

To be honest I found this book very confusing. I think this was partly to do with the repetitiveness of the time loop in, and the vast number of characters. I felt because of this I wasn’t able to enjoy the book as much.

Although this book has a unique and intriguing plot I personally would have enjoyed it better with a simpler who done it style murder mystery.

An overall good read, and yes I do recommend it as I know others will enjoy it more than me. But I do suggest trying to borrow this book from your local  library rather than buying it, that is if you haven’t already got a copy waiting on you TBR pile/shelves.

Have you read this book? What did you think of it? Share your thoughts in the comments below and let’s have a chat.

7 comments

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s